Bye Elections Update: APC Wins in Katsina, Kogi

The Independent National  Electoral Commission (INEC) in Katsina state has declared Alhaji Ahmed Babba-Kaita of the All Progressives Congress (APC ), as the winner of the bye-election conducted in the Katsina North Senatorial District.

Prof  Hudu Ayuba-Abdullahi the returning officer who announced the result at 4:42 am  in Daura on Sunday said Kaita, a member of the House of Representatives scored 224,607 votes, while his elder brother and a retired customs officer,  Alhaji Kabir Babba Kaita of the Peoples  Democratic Party (PDP)  scored 59,724 votes

Abdullahi said the total number of registered voters was 864,046.  The number of accredited voters was 308,500.

According to him, the total votes cast was  294,050, out of which  287,155 votes were counted as valid and 10,891 rejected.

The News Agency of Nigeria NAN reports that six political parties contested for the seat, which became vacant after the death of Senator Bukar Mustapha.

Apart from the APC and PDP, the other parties that took part in the election were Democratic Alliance (DA), Green Party of Nigeria (GPN),  Masses Movement of Nigeria(MMN)  and MPN.

GPN scored 1056, DA  796, MPN  633 and  MMN 343 votes. Malam Habibu Suleiman the agent of the PDP who signed the results, as declared alleged some irregularities.

Katsina North  Senatorial District is the home district of President Muhammadu Buhari, now away to London on a  vacation. The APC candidate defeated the PDP candidate in all the 12 local councils that make up the district.

The Candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Alhaji Haruna Isah, has been declared the winner of the Lokoja/Kogi House of Representatives by-election held on Aug.11.

The Returning Officer, Prof. Rotimi Ajayi, who announced the results on Sunday in Lokoja, said Isah polled 26, 860 votes to defeat Alhaji Bashir Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who polled 14, 845 votes.

Ajayi said that Ahmed Imam of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) scored 2, 916 votes, while the candidates of the Accord Party and Alternative Democratic Congress (ADC) scored 149 votes and 2,984 votes, respectively.

The Labour Party scored 90 votes; Democratic Alternative scored 159 votes; while Mega Party of Nigeria scored 50 votes, Ajayi stated.

He said that 19,960 votes from 17 polling units were cancelled due to violence and other malpractices, saying that 15 of the affected polling units were in Lokoja Local Government Area, while two were from Kogi Local Government Area.

Giving a further breakdown of the election results, the Returning Officer said that 51, 669 voters were accredited for the election while only 50,036 actually cast their votes.

According to him, valid votes are 48,165, while rejected votes are 1,871.

The by-election was conducted by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to fill the vacancy created by the death of the former occupant of the seat, Umar Buba Jibrin, on March 30.




    Choose :
  • OR
  • To comment
No comments:
Write comments

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.